West Orange NJ Harassment Defense Attorney
Harassment charges can be issued in a wide variety of cases, among former spouses or those formerly engaged in romantic relationships, among neighbors, or among peers. Further, harassment has become more common in recent years, particularly as bullying emerged as hot-button and highly pertinent issue. Sometimes, these criminal charges overlap with quasi-criminal proceedings if a restraining order is issued. Regardless of how these charges arise, a conviction can result in severe penalties, including a charge on your criminal record and even a jail sentence, not to mention a marred reputation. However, a skilled and proactive defense attorney can often work to achieve the downgrading or dismissal of the charges against you, allowing you to move on with your life.
Attorney Roy W. Breslow has served on both sides of the legal aisle. As a former Prosecutor and Deputy Attorney General, he has become an expert at navigating the complex criminal justice process in New Jersey. With dedication to the presumption of innocence, Mr. Breslow now focuses wholly on the practice of criminal defense, utilizing his extensive experience to benefit his clients. Contact the Law Offices of Roy Breslow for a stress-free, cost-free consultation.
Harassment in New Jersey: N.J.S.A. 2C:33-4
Harassment offenses are addressed in section N.J.S.A. 2C:33-4 of the New Jersey Criminal Code, which reads:
A person commits a petty disorderly persons offense if, with purpose to harass another, he:
a. Makes, or causes to be made, a communication or communications anonymously or at extremely inconvenient hours, or in offensively coarse language, or any other manner likely to cause annoyance or alarm;
b. Subjects another to striking, kicking, shoving, or other offensive touching, or threatens to do so; or
c. Engages in any other course of alarming conduct or of repeatedly committed acts with purpose to alarm or seriously annoy such other person.
A communication under subsection a. may be deemed to have been made either at the place where it originated or at the place where it was received.
Charges for Harassment in Verona or Essex County NJ?
Harassment is classified as a petty disorderly persons offense in New Jersey. As such, a conviction may result in a sentence including up to 30 days to be served in the county jail, as well as a maximum fine of $500.00. However, these allegations require the State to prove that the defendant had the intent to harass the alleged victim. In other words, simply engaging in conduct that alarms or annoys another person does not constitute harassment. Under the law, you must engage in this conduct with the purpose to do so.
Mounting a successful defense requires a thorough understanding of the law and knowledge of the precedential cases that comprise current case law in this subject area. With nearly 4 decades of legal experience practicing in New Jersey, Mr. Breslow has accumulated an arsenal of information which he can use to help you clear your name. Contact him today to discuss your case.