Bloomfield NJ DWI Defense Attorney

In New Jersey, an individual who operates a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) that exceeds 0.08% may be exposed to charges for driving while intoxicated (DWI). These offenses, although considered motor vehicle violations, entail severe penalties, including lengthy periods of driver’s license suspension, significant fines, and even jail sentences. The specific penalties involved in a given case are dependent upon two factors: the individual’s BAC at the time of the offense, provided that he or she did not refuse to submit to a breath test, and the number (if any) of previous convictions for DWI in the person’s past. With the varied circumstances of DWI cases come equally variable repercussions. For instance, for your first DWI conviction, you may lose your license for 3 months, while for a third offense DWI, your license may be suspended for a period of 10 years.

DWI cases are highly nuanced, requiring a great deal of skill and understanding to be addressed effectively. The multitude of technicalities within New Jersey DWI law means that hiring an experienced lawyer is perhaps even more essential in these cases than some others. Attorney Roy W. Breslow brings over 40 years of experience into the court room as he defends clients in Municipal and Superior Courts across the State. Contact his offices anytime for a free consultation and learn more about how Mr. Breslow can help you work toward a successful resolution.

Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) in New Jersey: N.J.S.A. 39:4-50

Under section N.J.S.A. 39:4-50, DWI offenses are separated into several distinct types, each of which entail specific penalties. The following is a break-down of New Jersey’s DWI violations:

First Offense 

  • Blood Alcohol Content Between 0.08% and 0.10%: 
    • License Suspension: 3 months
    • Fine: $250 to $400
    • Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC): 12-48 hours
    • Sentence to serve up to 30 days in the county jail
  • Blood Alcohol Content Above 0.10%:
    • License Suspension: 7 months to 1 year
    • Fine: $300 to $500
    • Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC): 12-48 hours
    • Sentence to serve up to 30 days in the county jail
  • Blood Alcohol Content Above 0.15%:
    • Mandatory ignition interlock device: for period of license suspension and 6 months after license restoration

Second Offense 

  • License suspension: 2 years
  • Fine: $500 to $1,000
  • Community Service: 30 Days
  • Sentence to serve between 48 hours and 90 days in the county jail
  • Mandatory ignition interlock device: for period of license suspension and between 1 and 3 years after license restoration

Third Offense 

  • License suspension: 10 years
  • Fine: $1,000
  • Mandatory sentence to serve 180 days in the county jail
  • Mandatory ignition interlock device: for period of license suspension and between 1 and 3 years after license restoration

DWI Charges in Caldwell or Essex County NJ?

As is evidenced by the outline above, driving while intoxicated offenses are punished severely in New Jersey and can cause a significant disruption to your life. With the help of a knowledgeable lawyer, you can position yourself to achieve the best possible outcome. Call the Law Offices of Roy W. Breslow to discuss your case.