Bloomfield New Jersey DWI Lawyer

Driving While Intoxicated (DWI)

Home » Driving Under The Influence Offenses » Driving While Intoxicated (DWI)

In New Jersey, an individual who operates a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) that exceeds 0.08% may be exposed to charges for driving while intoxicated (DWI). These offenses, although considered motor vehicle violations, entail severe penalties, including lengthy periods of driver’s license suspension, significant fines, and even jail sentences.

The specific penalties involved in a given case are dependent upon two factors: the individual’s BAC at the time of the offense provided that he or she did not refuse to submit to a breath test, and the number (if any) of previous convictions for DWI in the person’s past. With the varied circumstances of DWI cases come equally variable repercussions. For instance, for your first DWI conviction, you may lose your license for 3 months, while for a third offense DWI, your license may be suspended for a period of 10 years.

DWI cases are highly nuanced, requiring a great deal of skill and understanding to be addressed effectively. The multitude of technicalities within New Jersey DWI law means that hiring an experienced NJ DWI lawyer is perhaps even more essential in these cases than some others. Breslow Law Offices brings over 40 years of experience into the courtroom as they defend clients in Municipal and Superior Courts across the State. Contact their offices anytime for a free consultation and learn more about how the NJ DWI defense lawyer at Breslow Law Offices can help you work toward a successful resolution.

Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) in New Jersey: N.J.S.A. 39:4-50

Under section N.J.S.A. 39:4-50, DWI offenses are separated into several distinct types, each of which entails specific NJ DWI penalties. The following is a breakdown of New Jersey’s DWI violations:

Bloomfield NJ DWI First Offense 

  • Blood Alcohol Content Between 0.08% and 0.10%: 
    • License Suspension: 3 months
    • Fine: $250 to $400
    • Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC): 12-48 hours
    • Sentence to serve up to 30 days in the county jail
  • Blood Alcohol Content Above 0.10%:
    • License Suspension: 7 months to 1 year
    • Fine: $300 to $500
    • Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC): 12-48 hours
    • Sentence to serve up to 30 days in the county jail
  • Blood Alcohol Content Above 0.15%:
    • Mandatory ignition interlock device: for the period of license suspension and 6 months after license restoration

Bloomfield NJ DWI Second Offense 

  • License suspension: 2 years
  • Fine: $500 to $1,000
  • Community Service: 30 Days
  • Sentence to serve between 48 hours and 90 days in the county jail
  • Mandatory ignition interlock device: for the period of license suspension and between 1 and 3 years after license restoration

Bloomfield NJ DWI Third Offense 

  • License suspension: 10 years
  • Fine: $1,000
  • Mandatory sentence to serve 180 days in the county jail
  • Mandatory ignition interlock device: for the period of license suspension and between 1 and 3 years after license restoration

Bloomfield NJ DWI – Free Consultation

In New Jersey driving while intoxicated can be a severe crime and can cause a significant disruption to your life. With the help of a knowledgeable DWI defense lawyer, you can position yourself to achieve the best possible outcome. Call Breslow Law Offices to discuss your case 973-239-8000.