Simple Assault

Simple assault allegations are seldom simple. If you're facing simple assault charges in New Jersey, contact Breslow Law Offices today for a free consultation.

New Jersey Simple Assault Lawyer

Simple assault allegations are seldom simple. They generally arise in highly contentious circumstances and can overlap with other serious issues such as restraining orders in domestic violence incidents, or other charges such as disorderly persons offense or resisting arrest. Moreover, a simple assault charge can be elevated to aggravated assault if the alleged victim is a police officer or public servant. Unless the charge is enhanced, a simple assault case will be adjudicated in the local Municipal Court associated with the alleged incident and may lead to penalties including fines, a charge on your criminal record, and even jail time. Having a seasoned legal advocate on your side can be essential to the success of your case when facing these allegations.

The attorneys at Breslow Law Offices have represented countless defendants with simple assault charges in New Jersey. Their work as prosecutors provided them with unique and highly desirable information about how the State seeks to prosecute these offenses, which they now employs to effectively defend their clients in Municipal and Superior Courts across the State. To speak with them about your case for a free consultation, contact their office 973-239-8000.

Simple Assault in New Jersey: N.J.S.A. 2C:12-1

Simple assault is outlined in section N.J.S.A. 2C:12-1 of the New Jersey Criminal Code, which reads:

A person is guilty of a simple assault if he or she:

(1) Attempts to cause or purposely, knowingly or recklessly causes bodily injury to another; or

(2) Negligently causes bodily injury to another with a deadly weapon; or

(3) Attempts by physical menace to put another in fear of imminent serious bodily injury.

What are the charges for Simple Assault in NJ?

A simple assault offense is classified as a disorderly persons offense in New Jersey, meaning that a conviction may result in one or more of the following penalties:

  • Up to 6 months to be served in the county jail
  • A maximum fine of $1,000

In addition, a simple assault sentence can require anger management courses or counseling and significant restitution payments to the alleged victim for damages.

Contacting an attorney is the most effective way to avoid some, if not all, of the aforementioned consequences. The attorneys at Breslow Law Offices have successfully resolved thousands of simple assault cases for their clients, in addition to the restraining order proceedings that may result in these cases.

Contact a criminal defense attorney to learn more about how they can help you today 973-239-8000.


Speak to an Attorney Today

Breslow Law Offices helps individuals and families across New Jersey navigate through important, life-changing events